Dr. Amel Karboul

Coffin Corner
amel-karboul-coffin-corner

Stimmen zu Coffin Corner:

  • Amel Karboul nimmt uns mit auf eine Reise durch ihr Leben, ihr Heimatland, ihre Erfahrungen als Beraterin mit den großen Firmen unserer Zeit. Wir sehen den Granatapfel vor uns, wir schämen uns mit den U-Bahnfahrgästen, wir stehen fassungslos neben dem Telekommunikationsvorstand. Sie lässt uns mit allen Sinnen erleben, wie sie mit Disruption, Unsicherheit und Angst umgeht, ganz persönlich, fern von Theorie. Damit nimmt sie uns unsere Scheuklappen und öffnet unseren Blick um selbst mit Unvorherzusehendem umgehen zu können – gewinnbringend für uns persönlich und unsere Unternehmen.
    Julika Rollin, Geschäftsführerin der gemeinnützigen Common Purpose Deutschland GmbH
  • Amel Karboul weiß, was sie will. Sie ist ein Kommunikationstalent, spricht druckreif und schnell. Mit tunesischem Improvisationstalent und deutscher Gründlichkeit hat sie als erste Ministerin für Tourismus in der tunesischen Übergangsregierung 2014 beherzt in einer von Männern dominierten Welt Veränderungen unter großer Zustimmung Bevölkerung durchgesetzt.
    Rolf Brockschmidt, Der Tagesspiegel
  • Wie Amel Karboul das Effizienz- und Optimierungsdenken hinterfragt und ganz neue Wege und kreative Lösungen aufzeigt – das liest sich spannend wie ein Krimi. Amel Karboul öffnet uns die Augen für das Potential, das in der Sicht- und Denkweise anderer Kulturen steckt.
    Luzia Braun, ZDF
  • Dieses Buch fordert seine Leser heraus, die gewohnten Positionen zu räumen und einen neuen Blickwinkel einzunehmen.
    Ann-Kristin Achleitner, Wirtschaftsprofessorin der TU München und Aufsichtsrätin Engie, Linde, MunichRe und Metro
  • Amel Karboul krempelt unser Denken über Führung um. Ein absoluter Lesetipp für Leader in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.
    Frank Trümper, Geschäftsführer BBUG – Baden-Badener, Unternehmer Gespräche e.V.
  • Die Anforderungen, denen Unternehmen sich in Zukunft ausgesetzt sehen werden, sind nicht größer, schwerer oder komplizierter als in der Vergangenheit, aber sie werden anders sein. Um sich darauf vorzubereiten ist es nicht mehr damit getan, schneller, klüger oder stärker zu werden, sondern man wird lernen müssen „anders zu werden“. Das Buch von Dr. Amel Karboul ist ein Füllhorn mit Bildern, Beispielen und Möglichkeiten. Man bleibt fasziniert zurück von diesem lebenden Beispiel eines „sowohl als auch“ wie wir es in Zukunft beherrschen sollten, wenn wir nicht beherrscht werden wollen.
    Albert Schmitt, Managing Director der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen; Entwickler des 5-Sekunden Modells und Autor
  • Wer denkt, in Sachen Führung schon alles zu können und zu wissen, lese Amel Karboul. Ein Buch, so überraschend würzig wie ein Mokka auf einem orientalischen Basar.
    Ilse Henne, CEO OU Metals Western Europe/RoW der Business Area Materials Services der ThyssenKrupp AG
  • Komprimierte Lebenserfahrung aus einem unvergleichlich reichhaltigen Fundus – authentisch, mutig, provozierend und dabei auch noch unterhaltsam. Besonders gut gefällt mir Amels wertschätzendes Menschenbild, das Ihrer Arbeit und diesem Buch zugrunde liegt, und ihre Überzeugung, dass genau dieses die Basis für erfolgreiches Management im 21. Jahrhundert ist. Ein Buch, das „hängen bleibt“, weil es provoziert, weil es den Leser emotional berührt und relevant ist, weil es Geschichten erzählt und Bilder heraufbeschwört.
    Dr. Katrin Vernau, Verwaltungsdirektorin WDR
  • Vergesst die alten MBA-Schablonen. Amel Kaboul zeigt uns mit orientalischem Storytelling, wie Führung im 21. Jahrhundert aussieht. Sehr anders, sehr lesenswert.
    Dr. Hariolf Wenzler, Geschäftsführer der Bucerius Law School, Hochschule für Rechtswissenschaft
  • Amel Karboul lebt im Zwischenraum – zwischen den Kulturen, den Religionen, den Lebensentwürfen der Moderne. Das macht ihren Blick so wertvoll.
    Gabriele Fischer, Chefredakteurin brandeins
  • Erfrischend, praxisnah und grenzüberschreitend ! Amel Karboul überzeugt mit modernen Konzepten der Unternehmensführung im Zeitalter der weltumspannenden Digitalisierung.
    Ralf Christian, Siemens AG, CEO Energy Management Division
  • Optimierung ist nicht alles. Erfolg muss auch robust sein. Welche Art von Führung die Resilienz von Organisationen stärkt, dafür gibt dieses Buch viele sehr wertvolle Anregungen.
    Karl-Ludwig Kley, Vorsitzender des Vorstands der Merck KGaA
  • Jeder Manager hat selbst schon Situationen erlebt, die Amel Karboul sehr treffend und auf unterhaltsame Weise beschreibt. Ein lesenswertes Buch, aus dem jeder Lehren ziehen kann.
    Kasper Rorsted, Vorsitzender des Vorstands der Henkel AG & Co. KGaA
  • Dieses Buch verblüfft, inspiriert und stellt manch´ eigenes Verhaltensmuster in Frage. Wichtiger noch: Es skizziert eine neue Kultur von Leadership für die Komplexität und Dynamik des 21. Jahrhunderts!
    Dr. Christoph Franz, Präsident des Verwaltungsrates der Roche Holding AG

Angesichts überraschender Unternehmenspleiten, plötzlich auftauchender Markttrends und wachsender Konkurrenz auf dem Weltmarkt können Manager schon mal in Panik geraten. Die instinktive Reaktion: mehr Controlling, bessere Planung, weitere Optimierung. – Genau der falsche Weg, sage ich.

Denn: Optimierung engt die Handlungsspielräume ein. Ein Beispiel: Die Effizienz eines Flugzeugs ist in einer bestimmten Höhenlage, in der sich Mindest- und Maximalgeschwindigkeit einander annähern, am höchsten und der Kerosinverbrauch gleichzeitig am niedrigsten. Nicht ohne Grund wird diese Höhenzone „Coffin Corner“ (oder auf Deutsch „Sargdecke“) genannt, denn jedes unvorhergesehene Ereignis kann einen Highflyer zum Absturz bringen. Hoch effizient bedeutet also auch hoch gefährlich!

Das Gleiche gilt für Unternehmen und Organisationen in einer Phase des Umbruchs zur digitalen Gesellschaft. Was Sicherheit bringen sollte, verstärkt tatsächlich die Unsicherheit. Bei unvorhersehbaren Ereignissen nehmen hochkomplexe, chaotische Wechselwirkungen sprunghaft zu. Was zunächst als Sicherungsnetz wirkte, wird schnell zur Fußfessel.

In diesem Buch möchte ich Sie einladen, zu verstehen, wie stark unser Umgang mit Unsicherheit durch kulturelle Konventionen geprägt ist und die Fußfesseln abzulegen. Wir Europäer wollen Unsicherheit eindämmen, während die Menschen in der arabischen und afrikanischen Kultur gewohnt sind, mit Unsicherheit zu leben. Flexibilität, mehrgleisige Planung, Fehlertoleranz und Raum für Intuition das können westliche Unternehmen von diesen Kulturen lernen. Das Ergebnis: Sie fürchten unerwartete Veränderungen nicht mehr, sondern nutzen Sie für den eigenen Erfolg.

Dr. Amel Karboul

Coffin Corner

What has been said in praise of this book:

  • Amel Karboul takes us on a journey through her life, her native country, her experience as a consultant with the big companies of our time. We picture the pomegranate, we are ashamed with the subway passengers and we are standing stunned next to the telecommunication board. She lets us experience with all our senses how she deals with disruption, uncertainty and fear, very personally, far from theory. Thus, she takes away our blinders and opens our eyes to how to deal with the unexpected - helpful for us personally and for our organisations.
    Julika Rollin, Managing Director of the nonprofit Common Purpose Germany GmbH
  • Amel Karboul knows what she wants. She is a talented communicator, is talking ready for press and quickly. With a Tunisian talent for improvisation and a German thoroughness, she enforced changes courageously with a broad support of the population as the first female Minister of Tourism in the Tunisian transitional government of 2014 in a world dominated by men.
    Rolf Brockschmidt, Der Tagesspiegel
  • The way Amel Karboul gets to the bottom of how we think about efficiency and optimization, and points out new approaches and creative solutions – it’s as gripping as a crime novel
    Luzia Braun, ZDF
  • This book challenges its readers to leave their normal viewpoints behind and take on a new perspective.”
    Ann-Kristin Achleitner, Professor of Economics at Munich Technical University (TU München) and Member of the Supervisory Board, inter alia, at Linde, Munich Re and Metro
  • Amel Karboul turns our thinking about leadership on its head. Highly recommended reading for leaders, whether their remit be within business or society.
    Frank Trümper, Managing Director, BBUG (The Baden-Baden Entrepreneur Talks).
  • The demands that companies will be exposed to in future are no greater, no more difficult or complicated than in the past, but they will be different. It is no longer the done thing to prepare for this by becoming quicker, cleverer or stronger – it will be more a matter of “becoming different.”Dr. Amel Karboul’s book is a cornucopia of illustrations, examples and opportunities. You are left fascinated by this person, who is ‘both this and that’ at the same time, and who shows us how we need to master the art of being like this – if we don’t want to be mastered by others.
    Albert Schmitt, Managing Director of the German Chamber Philharmonic of Bremen, Developer of the 5 Seconds Model, and author
  • Anyone who thinks that when it comes to leadership they know it all and can do it all, should read Amel Karboul. This book is as surprisingly aromatic as a mocha at an oriental bazaar.
    Ilse Henne, CEO OU Metals Western Europe, ThyssenKrupp PLC
  • This book contains condensed life experience extracted from an incomparably rich source. Authentic, bold, provocative but also entertaining. What I particularly like is Amel’s appreciative concept of what it means to be human, which underlies both her work and this book, and also her conviction that this is the basis for successful management in the 21st century. This is a book that ‘stays with you’ – as it provokes you, and touches you as the reader, and also because it tells you stories and conjures up all sorts of images.
    Dr. Katrin Vernau, Executive Director of West German Broadcasting (WDR)
  • Ditch the old economics-degree templates. Amel Karboul uses oriental storytelling techniques to show us what 21st-century leadership looks like. It’s very different – and it’s well worth a read!
    Dr. Hariolf Wenzler, Executive Director, Bucerius Law School
  • Amel Karboul inhabits the space between modern-day cultures, religions and lifestyles. This is what makes her perspective so valuable.
    Gabriele Fischer, Editor-in-Chief, brand eins
  • Refreshing, practical and transnational! Taking modern business management concepts in the age of global digitalization as her medium, Amel Karboul comes across as convincing.
    Ralf Christian, CEO, Energy Management Division, Siemens PLC
  • Optimisation is not the be all and end all. Success needs to be robust. What kind of leadership strengthens the resilience of organisations? This book puts forward many very valuable suggestions.
    Karl-Ludwig Kley, Chairman of the Executive Board, Merck Joint Stock Company
  • Every manager has experienced the kind of situations which are very touchingly and entertainingly described by Amel Karboul. This is a very readable book which everyone can learn from.
    Kasper Rorsted, Chairman of the Executive Board of Henkel PLC & Co. Joint Stock Company
  • This book amazes and inspires you, and brings your own way of doing things into question. What is more, it outlines a new leadership culture suited to the complexity and dynamics of the 21st century!
    Dr. Christoph Franz, President of the Board of Directors of Roche Holding PLC, previously CEO of Swiss International Air Lines and Chairman of Lufthansa PLC

Faced with company bankruptcies that come as a surprise to everyone, together with market trends that emerge out of nowhere, and also increasing competition on the global market, managers can quickly start to panic. Their instinctive reaction is to increase cost control and to implement better planning and optimization. I say this is precisely the wrong way to go.

For optimization narrows your room for manoeuvre. Here is an example: the efficiency of an aeroplane is at its greatest at a point at which it is at the greatest possible height and it uses the least possible amount of fuel, and at which minimum and maximum speed occur in close proximity. It is not without reason that this altitude zone is referred to as “coffin corner”, as every unforeseen event that occurs may prove sufficient to bring down a high-flyer. Being highly efficient also means finding yourself in great danger!

The same goes for companies and organisations undergoing upheaval during the move towards a digital society. That which was supposed to bring certainty actually increases uncertainty. When unforeseeable events occur, highly-complex, chaotic interactions increase rapidly. What was initially a safety net quickly becomes a shackle.

In this book I would like to invite you to understand the degree to which the way we approach uncertainty is shaped by cultural conventions, thereby inviting you to lose your shackles. We Europeans want to curb uncertainty, whereas those from an Arab or African culture are used to living with uncertainty. What western companies can learn from these cultures is flexibility, multi-tracked planning, a tolerance of failure, and the need to leave room for intuition.

The outcome is that you no longer fear unexpected change – rather you use change to achieve personal success.